Firsts… A #CraftBlogClub Challenge Post

Hey!

SO it’s challenge follow-up time!

Unlike the other #CraftBlogClub challenges I have participated in over the last couple of years (almost) the challenge this time was to write a blog post about a ‘First’. And after much thought, it dawned on me that since changing over from my first blog I haven’t talked much about my first crafty love, so I thought I’d write a post on cross stitching!

To read about the challenge, you can click HERE to read the introductory post on the challenge…

SO! Here goes! I don’t have any photos of when I first got into cross-stitch. I was seven, and a family friend who used to look after me sometimes, used to stitch. When I asked about it, she showed me how. And I loved it immediately! I did some smaller pieces, usually just block patterns on off-cuts of aida, as well as the occasional kit. Of course when I hit my teens I lost interest a little, but I picked it back up again here and there, and got the bug again last time about ten  years ago.

When I started again, I made cards, which was a glance ahead slightly into my love of card making now! Here are a few from over the years:

Bentley Bear

Bentley Bear cross stitched card, cover kit with Cross Stitcher Magazine.

Cat Happy Birthday

Happy Birthday, made from a pattern in one of the many books in my collection

(Makes mental note to look up which book…)

SAM_1316

Butterfly birthday card with ribbon accent, pattern found online.

Train Birthday (2)

One of my favourite makes, my nephews 3rd birthday card!

SAM_0698

VW Campers stitched and framed in 4 colours (still hanging on the wall in my living room!)

SAM_0795

Bold Blooms, from a Cross-Stitcher kit, stitched with coloured seed beads. Framed and mounted by Helen.

SAM_1146

Cthulhu, stitched for Jo, from a pattern found online.

I’ve also done many other projects, which you can see in the cross-stitch gallery (tab above)!

And I’m still stitching today, for both myself and as gifts for others, and I don’t see myself finishing any time soon! I may do many other crafts now, and talk about cross-stitch less, but it will always be my first crafty love!

Catch up with #craftblogclub on twitter from 7pm-8:30 uk time, just use the hashtag!

Until next time!

Sig2

10 thoughts on “Firsts… A #CraftBlogClub Challenge Post

  1. Wow, some of those are fantastic! Is the cat letters an entire font or was it just for that phrase?

    Cthulhu is the best, by far. He’s much cuter in cross-stitch!

Say hi :)

