A New Crafty Skill

Hey!

One of my 30 before 30 was to learn a new crafty skill. I mentioned this was already in the process of being sorted, and indeed it was. A couple of weeks before my birthday last year, I was contacted by the lovely people at House Of Gems, who asked me if I would like to choose some items from their site, and in return, blog about it.

Honestly, I was very much thinking ‘What’s the catch?’ There genuinely wasn’t one! So being me, and up for anything really, I chose some things. And now, I am indeed blogging about it!

House of Gems, is an online store, based in the USA that sells wholesale beads and jewellery making supplies. I’ve not blogged about jewellery making before, though beads I am pretty familiar with. It’s something I’ve done but not for a very long time. So when I ordered I was a bit apprehensive when it came to my ability to actually create something I would be happy with. I thought for a little while about what I wanted. Had a look through the site and utterly fell in love with a Sterling silver Garnet & Mother of Pearl double pendant, which was very me. I also ordered some Garnet and Mother of Pearl gemstone beads, (I had a running theme in my head), as well as some jump rings and chain, which are actually partly for some other stuff too.

I haven’t made all that I want to make with my beads yet, but I thought I would share the couple of things I have done already.

With the pendant, I was going to do more, but then decided that it was ornate enough on its own and I didn’t want to over do it, so this is the pendant in  all it’s glory simply threaded onto some black satin ribbon:

Pendant.jpg

With some of the beads, I decided to go with something a little more delicate, and after wrestling with very fine jewellery wire (there is lots of re-threading involved) I created this flower link bracelet:

Bracelet1.jpg

I also plan on making another simpler bracelet, as well as using some of the beads in other creative ways! So I’ll post again when I get round to doing that!

I would like to stress here, that all the opinions in this post are my own. I haven’t been asked to say anything at all, but I would like to say that the products themselves are really nice quality and came very well packaged, they of course travelled a fair distance so it was nice that everything arrived safely! It’s been fun working on something a bit different too. I may even decide to have another dabble at some point and House of Gems is definitely somewhere I would consider shopping.

Hope you’ve had a great week.

Until next time.

SIG

 

4 thoughts on “A New Crafty Skill

Say hi :)

