#CraftBlogClub Secret Santa Reveal

Hey!

So we’re into the new year now, and for me at least, this means the Christmas decorations are away (and every year I forget how weird and empty this makes the house look) and the majority at least, of the junk food has been eaten.

Here at Casa de Crafty, we’re still making our way through binge-watching Fringe, and have started season 6 of Sons of Anarchy on Netflix, eating the last of the festive chocolate and I’ve done two days back at work already! We’re fairly officially in 2015, so this of course means I’m posting about… Well, er, Christmas actually! And the #CraftBlogClub secret santa! I’ve blogged about them before, as well as a previous giveaway and you can read about that here and here. (Don’t worry links open in a new window so you won’t lose me).

I jumped at the chance to sign up to the secret santa swap with #CraftBlogClub on Twitter back in November! I already had a pretty good idea what I was going to make for the lovely Fiona, from Fizzi~Jayne Makes. Do click that link to visit her awesome blog too!

Here’s what I made:

CBCSS1.jpgAnd a close up: CBCSS2.jpgI got stitching pretty close to the due date, opting for traditional red and gold, as I didn’t know the scheme she was working with, I decided to decorate with simple stars, stitched with a gorgeous warm gold metallic thread! I’ve posted already about my Christmas Stocking Baubles and they are a joy to stitch! Seriously I absolutely love them!

I also sent along a handmade Christmas card, some Cornish Christmas Pudding flavour chocolate, and a Cornish Piskie which brings good fortune if you carry one in your purse (well if it helps it helps!) Though I’m not Cornish, living here I thought it would make my gift a little unique! If you read Fiona’s post HERE, she’s posted pretty pictures of it all together, because I reeeeeaallly didn’t think that far ahead.

What I received:

It felt like forever til I received my gift in return but it was SO exciting! My parcel and Christmas card arrived from Amanda at Gift Frippery (seriously check out her blog, if not to gaze in wonder at the photos of beautiful things she does to gift wrapping!)

Then this HUGE box arrived… Now those close to me will know, I’m one of those people that LOVES wrapping presents. I’m all about bows and ribbons and folding it so it’s all pretty, and being generally anal-retentive about the whole process… So imagine my delight when I opened the box and saw this!

CBCSS3.jpgI almost didn’t want to open it… I mean how gorgeous is that?!

The camera came out straight away (because I knew I’d have to document this moment here) and then I immediately opened my present (I had an audience as well, as Stu’s mum had come round for dinner that evening! The curious kitten on the left of the photo is Loki of course!)

And inside were these utterly beautiful rolls of hand-printed wrapping paper!

CBCSS4.jpgClose up:

CBCSS5.jpg

The deer paper is so classically festive and beautiful, as is the stunning bird paper!!

I almost didn’t want to use it, it’s so pretty! I wanted to do something else with it too, I’m undecided but thought I’d think of a few ideas. Though of course it is wrapping paper, and though I haven’t used all of it, because I wanted to save some for this year too, here is a little ‘in use’ shot for you!

CBCSS6.jpg

I hope I did it justice!

It was amazing, and I’m really glad I took part, I enjoyed making my present, love what I received and now I’m enjoying reading everyone’s blog posts too! I can’t wait to join all the #CraftBlogClub regulars from tomorrow, and don’t forget you can join in too every Tuesday at 7pm (UK time) for chats and tips and all sorts of creative goodness!

Until next time!

SIG

One thought on “#CraftBlogClub Secret Santa Reveal

  1. Pingback: #CraftBlogClub Spring Clean Gift Swap 2015 | Kay Gets Crafty

Say hi :)

