Tag Bol!

Wow, sorry, I was busy booking a holiday and stuff last night (I know that’s a terrible excuse) so I’ve had to wait til lunchtime at work to post my latest recipe post.

I actually edit this one myself, because I am a fussy eater(!) so yeah I have put my alternatives in here too in blue!

I’ll add a photo later because I’m actually making this tonight!

Tagliatelle Bolognese

Ingredients:

Generous knob of butter
100g bacon, finely diced
1 onion, finely diced
1 carrot, finely diced
2 sticks celery, finely diced
250g minced beef

150ml dry white wine

400ml tin plum tomatoes

Tagliatelle Pasta

3 musrooms

1 bell pepper, finely diced (or 2 halfs of different colours)

Method:

Melt the butter in a large saucepan (or I use a wok) set over a gentle heat.

Add the bacon. Once the bacon fat has started to melt, add the onion, and cook gently until softened, then tip in the carrot, and cook for 5 minutes before adding the celery and cooking for a further 2 minutes.

Here’s where I note that I use  mushrooms and peppers because I don’t like either onion or celery… but it works pretty  much the same way, I add peppers last…

Crumble the beef into the pan and brown, stirring occasionally to break up any lumps. Season and let it cook for another 5 minutes.

Pour in the wine and the tomatoes and stir well. Simmer until the meat is very tender. (Some people do this for HOURS it’s up to you I guess, but I find 30 mins is about all the time I have to cook it in) Check on it occasionally, and top up with a little water if it seems too dry, although this probably won’t be necessary. Serve with tagliatelle and grated Parmesan cheese.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Tag Bol!

Say hi :)

