Red Velvet Cake

Hey,

Midweek recipe sharing goodness, and I’m back on the sweets! So yeah today I’m sharing something I made only a little while ago, and credit where credit is due, I found it online, HERE.
I love red velvet cake and I have wanted to make it for ages, and what with a certain somebody having a birthday, it seemed like the opportunity!

So I got all the stuff together, and got baking. Check the link above to Channel 4’s site for the recipe in full, I made mine with a different icing (buttercream) and was probably a bit less finicky to be honest, because that’s what I’m like really! So what follows is my version if you like:

Red Velvet Cake

Ingredients:

175g unsalted butter, at room temperature, plus extra for greasing
450g caster sugar
eggs, at room temperature
3 tbsp cocoa powder
38ml bottle Dr Oetker Natural Red (or 1 heaped tsp Sugarflair Red Extra food colouring)
1 tsp vanilla extract
500g plain flour
1 tsp salt
340ml buttermilk
1½ tsp bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)
1½ tsp cider vinegar
Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C/300°F/gas mark 4.
Grease 2 8in diameter cake tins and line with baking parchment.

Beat the butter, until light and fluffy. Add the sugar and beat until it all comes together. Add in the eggs, one at a time. Beat in the cocoa, food colouring and vanilla extract.
Sift the flour and salt into a bowl, then add to the butter mixture in three stages, alternating with the buttermilk.

Put the bicarbonate of soda and cider vinegar in a small bowl and whisk until it bubbles up. Add this to the cake batter and give it one last quick beat.

The addition of the vinegar and bicarbonate will make the colour of the cake develop and stay red when cooked. Spoon the mixture into the tins and level the top of the batter.

Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour. After 30 minutes, cover the top of the cake with foil to prevent it from browning too much. Test the cake after 45 minutes; when it is cooked, a knife or skewer inserted in the centre will come out clean.
Remove the foil and leave to cool on a wire rack for around 30 minutes. Remove from the tin and leave until completely cool before decorating.

I then made buttercream icing, which is uh, butter, and icing sugar… you really shouldn’t need instructions for this…. I spread some icing onto one of the cakes, and then carefully placed the other on top of it and uh, iced the rest… Yeah it was that simple, I used a large flat knife (no technical tools for me) to “smooth” the edges, and yeah… this (minus a slice, because otherwise it was just a white iced cake shaped mass…) is how it turned out…
SAM_2243

Yep, is red, is uh, cakey, and is by now (since the weekend) almost gone, so yeah a success!

It may not be the most beautiful cake in the world, but in all honesty, I didn’t take as much time over it as I could have, because, well, I have a full-time job, and live in a house where cake, is just awesome… And little effort is needed.

Have a fab Wednesday!

Kx

6 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cake

  1. I am so proud! You have THE Red Velvet cake recipe my Great Aunt Lilith shared with my mother and became the family go-to for every single birthday for years. 🙂 She still claims the secret to a Real red velvet is Real butter, but we used the salted variety. Glad you discovered this little bit of Heaven on Earth!

Say hi :)

