Toad in the Hole

Midweek again! Happy times.

It’s also recipe day, and I’m sharing another one of my all time faves. I make this quite a lot, and it’s taken me a while to perfect the recipe! But I think I’m there (I haven’t heard any complaints anyway!)

So without further ado:

Toad in the Hole:

Serves 4, prep time 15 minutes, cooking time 35-40 minutes.

Ingredients:

4oz/100g plain flour

1 level teaspoon salt

1-2 eggs (depends how much you want it to rise, I use 2)

½ pint diluted milk (or milk and water mixed)

Oil or fat to grease the pan

6-8 Sausages

Method:

Sift the flour and salt into a bowl (or a jug… is it just me or is sift a weird word?)

Make a well in the middle and add the egg(s)

Mix

Heat fat in a pan in a hot oven – when I say hot I mean hot 220°C/425°F/Gas Mark 7

When very hot… pour in the batter (which you can cool in the fridge or leave out for ages if you want, I’ve never really noticed the difference to be honest)

Arrange the sausages (or just like put them in)

Bake until well risen (don’t go opening the oven during cooking, it’ll sink) for about 35-40 minutes.

Photo thieved from BBC Good Food website, I will replace with one of my own!!

Photo thieved from BBC Good Food website, I will replace with one of my own!!

There you have it!

One thing I’ve noticed is my lack of food photos… I am on it though, I’m making Bacon and Egg Charlotte this week, so I’ll update when I make stuff!

Hope you’re having a great week.

Say hi :)

