Bacon and Egg Charlotte

Hey!

Hump day has arrived! Which is awesome, I don’t know, gotta get through the week somehow!

Today is my Kay Gets Cookin’ day, and I thought I’d better put something on here that wasn’t sweet, because as much as that’s all good, you can’t live on dessert (or so I’m told!) I’m going to share a recipe that I know really well, and have loved since I was little (or young… I’m still little) though many people haven’t heard of it, or just think it sounds weird… It’s awesome, please try it 😀

This is from a recipe card dated 1974 (Should I be cooking less stuff from the 70;s?!): SAM_2199

Bacon and Egg Charlotte: 

Serves 4, Prep time 20 minutes, Cooking time 30-35 minutes.

Ingredients:

6 slices of thinly buttered bread (this depends on the pan you are using, I tend to use however much gives me a nicely full dish)

  6 rashers of streaky bacon (I use cooking bacon, and tend to again just use whatever I use,  but I’m going by the card here)

4oz/100g grated cheese (Loads of cheese, the more the merrier, sometimes it can be fun to mix your cheeses, but y’know)

3 eggs

¾ pint/4.5 diluted milk

salt and pepper to taste…

Method:

Preheat your oven to 190°c/375°f/gas mark 5

Line the bottom of a baking tin with thinly buttered bread, with no gaps (or close enough to no gaps)

Cut the remaining bread into small half-inch (ish) pieces and put to one side.

Remove the rind from the bacon, and chop roughly

Starting with bread, make layers of bread, bacon, and cheese.

In a bowl beat the eggs and add the milk and seasoning (you can also add a bit of mustard if it takes your fancy)

Pour this “egg custard” over the top of your layered dish, and allow to stand for 10 minutes or so.

Bake until well risen and golden.

Serve as you like (salad works) (I also like this cold, but maybe I’m a bit weird)

I don’t have a photo of one I’ve made, but next time I make it I’ll add one in 🙂

Enjoy!!

Kx

One thought on “Bacon and Egg Charlotte

  1. Pingback: Toad in the Hole | Kay Gets Crafty

Say hi :)

